Skip to content

Development and Marine Planning (policy)

Coronavirus (Covid-19) – Change to our Service

To ensure compliance with government advice, Development and Marine Planning have made changes to their service. The Team are mainly working from home and therefore not office based. If you wish to contact the Team please email devplan@orkney.gov.uk

The Development and Marine Planning Team cover a range of responsibilities associated with strategic and local policy development for the use, development and protection of land and sea in Orkney.

The core responsibility of the team is the preparation and review of the Orkney Local Development Plan and the Orkney Regional Marine Plan, and other associated policy documents such as renewable energy and aquaculture.

We have responsibilities for biodiversity, archaeology, access, built heritage conservation and design; and have a leading role in the development of regeneration projects such as the Kirkwall Townscape Heritage Initiative and North Isles Landscape Partnership Scheme. Additionally we assist our Development Management colleagues in the determination of planning applications.

The Team

Mrs Susan Shearer MRTPI – Planning Manager (Development and Marine Planning) susan.shearer@orkney.gov.uk

The Senior Planner Post is currently vacant.

Mr Michael Harvey RIBA MRTPI – Senior Policy Planner michael.harvey@orkney.gov.uk

Miss Kay Gilmour – Assistant Planner kay.gilmour@orkney.gov.uk

Mr James Green MRTPI – Senior Policy Planner james.green@orkney.gov.uk

Dr Shona Turnbull – Marine Planner shona.turnbull@orkney.gov.uk

 

Danny Morris – Graduate Marine Planner  daniel.morris@orkney.gov.uk

Mrs Julie Gibson – County Archaeologist julie.gibson@uhi.ac.uk

Mrs Eileen Summers – Policy Planner (Environment) eileen.summers@orkney.gov.uk

Mr Ross Irvine – Rural Planner ross.irvine@orkney.gov.uk

All Development and Marine Planning pages can be accessed from the 'More pages in this section' menu.

Planning awards logos.

School Place, Kirkwall, Orkney, KW15 1NY

Telephone: 01856 873535

Translate this website

Orkney Islands Council: BOREAS DOMUS MARE AMICUS