Skip to content

Public bus services over the festive period

Date: 24 November 2021

As the festive season approaches, Orkney Islands Council is reminding the public that bus services run differently from 23 December 2021 to 4 January inclusive 2022.

The following arrangements will apply over the Festive Period. Note that all services are suspended on Christmas Day and New Years Day.

Monday 20 December, Tuesday 21 December and Wednesday 22 December will run to normal school day services.

Thursday 23 December 2021 - School Holiday Services will operate.

Christmas Eve 24 December 2021 - School Holiday timetables will operate with the exception of the following journeys:

Service X1 Stromness – Kirkwall – St Margarets Hope:

  • 2102 from Stromness will terminate at Kirkwall at 2133.
  • 2125 from Kirkwall to Stromness will NOT operate.
  • 2202 from Stromness will NOT operate.
  • 2207 from St Margarets Hope will NOT operate.

Service X10 Kirkwall to Stromness - cancelled.

Christmas Day Saturday 25 December 2021 – all services suspended

Boxing Day Sunday 26 December 2021 - All Services suspended with the exception of Service X10 which will operate a normal Sunday timetable.

Monday 27 December 2021 to Thursday 30 December inclusive - School Holiday Services will operate.

New Year’s Eve Friday 31 December 2021 - School Holiday timetables will operate with the same exceptions for Christmas Eve, namely:

Service X1 Stromness – Kirkwall – St Margarets Hope

  • 2102 from Stromness will terminate at Kirkwall at 2133.
  • 2125 from Kirkwall to Stromness will NOT operate.
  • 2202 from Stromness will NOT operate.
  • 2207 from St Margarets Hope will NOT operate.

Service X10 Kirkwall to Stromness - cancelled.

New Years Day Saturday 1 January 2022 - all services suspended.

Sunday 2nd January 2022 - All Services suspended with the exception of Service X10 which will operate a normal Sunday timetable.

From Wednesday 5th January 2022 - normal services will resume including school transport.

 

  • Summary:

    As the festive season approaches, Orkney Islands Council is reminding the public that bus services run differently from 23 December 2021 to 4 January inclusive 2022. 

  • Category:

School Place, Kirkwall, Orkney, KW15 1NY

Telephone: 01856 873535

Translate this website

Orkney Islands Council: BOREAS DOMUS MARE AMICUS