Skip to content

Councillors and Committees

Politically, the Council is made up of 18 independent councillors, two who are members of the Orkney Manifesto Group and one who is a member of the Scottish Green Party.

Council Structure

The Councillors sit on eight main committees. Each committee makes recommendations connected to a particular area of the Council’s work, such as education or transport.

Role Descriptions

The Council adopted the undernoted Role Descriptions to take effect following the Local Government elections in May 2017.

Cycle of Meetings

A cycle of meetings involving each of the committees takes place five times a year. Once a cycle has been completed, a meeting of the Full Council is held. All 21 Councillors take part – and make final decisions on the recommendations made by the committees.

Public Meetings

Don’t forget. The committees and the Full Council meet in public. Meetings can be watched in comfort from the public gallery at the rear of the Council chamber. A sound system ensures debates are heard loud and clear, with special equipment on offer for people with impaired hearing.

Information on Councillors, Wards, Committee Memberships and Meetings can be found from the 'More pages in this section' menu.

School Place, Kirkwall, Orkney, KW15 1NY

Telephone: 01856 873535

Translate this website

Orkney Islands Council: BOREAS DOMUS MARE AMICUS