Waste and recycling collections in the isles

This page is for historical purposes only. This consultation is now closed.

Cartoon image of household recycling

We're asking how waste and recycling collection could work for you on the isles

Orkney Islands Council is holding public drop-in sessions on the isles as part of consultations to look at options for waste collection and recycling in each community.

The Council is asking how folk in the isles communities feel services could be implemented in future, so there is a greater opportunity for residents to recycle from closer to home.

The first public session will take place in Westray on March 3, where residents will be asked to share their experiences of the Alternate Weekly Collection, or AWC, which was introduced in 2009 to help the Council meet national recycling targets and legislation.

Sessions planned across the isles are:

Westray – Tuesday 3 March: 7-9pm at the Westray School.

Sanday – Wednesday 4 March: 7.30 – 9.30pm at the Community School.

Eday - Wednesday March 11: 7pm-9pm in the Heritage Centre.

Stronsay – Thursday 12 March: 7-9pm at the Community Hall.

Graemsay – Friday 13 March: 12.30 – 3.30pm in the Community Hall.

Hoy – Friday 13 March: 7-9pm at the North Walls Community School.

Shapinsay – Saturday 14 March: 1-3.30pm at the Community School.

Flotta – Wednesday 18 March: 8.30am – 12 midday and 1-3pm in the Flotta Community School.

Rousay, Egilsay and Wyre – Saturday 21 March 11.30am-12.30pm and 2.30-4pm at the Rousay School.

North Ronaldsay – Monday 23 March: 7.30-9.30pm in the Community Centre.

Papa Westray – Tuesday 24 March, 10.30am-12.15pm and 2-4pm, at St Ann’s Kirk.

School Place, Kirkwall, Orkney, KW15 1NY

Telephone: 01856 873535

Translate this website

Orkney Islands Council: BOREAS DOMUS MARE AMICUS