Police and Fire Sub-committee

The Scottish Parliament approved the establishment of a single Police Service and a single Fire and Rescue Service for Scotland which came into operation on 1 April 2013. A local policing officer and a local senior fire officer are designated for each local authority area, who work with the local authority and other partners in determining priorities and objectives for their respective services. A local plan for each local authority area is agreed between the relevant local officer and the local authority, setting out priorities, objectives and arrangements for local service delivery.

The Police and Fire Sub-committee considers matters concerning the scrutiny of and engagement with the Police service and the Fire and Rescue Services in terms of the Police and Fire Reform (Scotland) Act 2012 and the Fire (Scotland) Act 2005 respectively.

The Scheme of Administration, which sets out the referred and delegated functions of the Council and its Committees and Sub-committees, is available from the 'Related Downloads' section of this page.

Details of meetings can be accessed from the 'More pages in this section' menu.


The Police and Fire Sub-committee comprises seven members of Orkney Islands Council as follows:

Committee Membership details are available from the 'Related Downloads' section of this page.

School Place, Kirkwall, Orkney, KW15 1NY

Telephone: 01856 873535

Email: customerservice@orkney.gov.uk

Orkney Islands Council: BOREAS DOMUS MARE AMICUS