UK General Election - Thursday 12 December 2019

An election was held on Thursday 12 December 2019 for a Member of Parliament to serve the Orkney and Shetland Constituency.

The results of the election were:

The total number of votes cast across the Constituency was 23,240.

The percentage turnout was 67.93%.

Table 1: Orkney and Shetland – 12 December 2019 UK Parliamentary Election (General Election)

Candidate Party Votes received.



Votes Received.

 David Stephen Barnard



Alistair Carmichael.

Scottish Liberal Democrats.


 Coilla Anne Drake.

 Scottish Labour Party.


 Jennifer Fairbairn.

 Scottish Conservative and Unionist.


 Robert Fraser Leslie.

Scottish National Party (SNP). 


 Robert Watt Smith.

 The Brexit Party.


Table 2: Rejected ballot papers

The total number of ballot papers rejected was 80.

Reason for Rejection.

Rejected Papers.

Want of official mark.


Voting for more than one Candidate.


Writing or Mark by which Voter could be identified.


Unmarked or void for uncertainty.




School Place, Kirkwall, Orkney, KW15 1NY

Telephone: 01856 873535

Translate this website

Orkney Islands Council: BOREAS DOMUS MARE AMICUS