Orkney Islands Council
Working together for a better Orkney

Result announced for Orkney and Shetland constituency

Result announced for Orkney and Shetland constituency
09 June 2017

Scottish Liberal Democrats candidate Alistair Carmichael has been re-elected to serve as MP for Orkney and Shetland.

After the votes were counted at Kirkwall Grammar School, Returning Officer for the Orkney and Shetland constituency, Alistair Buchan, announced the total cast for each candidate:

  • Robina Rendall Barton – Scottish Labour Party – 2,664.
  • Miriam Brett – Scottish National Party (SNP) – 6,749.
  • Alistair Carmichael – Scottish Liberal Democrats – 11,312.
  • Jamie Halcro Johnston – Scottish Conservative and Unionist – 2,024.
  • Stuart Hill – Independent - 245.
  • Robert Smith – UK Independence Party (UKIP) – 283.

The turnout across Orkney and Shetland in the UK General Election was 68.26 per cent, with 23,277 valid votes cast.