New MSYPs elected

New MSYPs elected
29 March 2019

Hope Laing and Maya Tams-Gray have been elected as Orkney's two new Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament.

The declaration of the election was held in the Council Chamber this afternoon (Friday 29 March), with the results announced by Orkney Islands Council's Depute Returning Officer Gareth Waterson.

The event was introduced by Council Convener Harvey Johnston, who was followed by outgoing MSYP for Orkney, Jack Norquoy, who spoke on his experience in youth politics.

The Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) is the democratically elected voice of Scotland's young people. It provides a national platform for young people to discuss issues important to them and affect the change they wish to see. The Scottish Youth Parliament hold elections every two years for its membership.

SYP was influential in helping secure votes for 16-year-olds in Scotland, and has also been a key voice in the campaign for equal marriage through its Love Equally campaign. SYP’s current campaign, All Aboard, focuses on improving public transport services for Scotland’s young people, calling for reduced fares, increased accessibility for disabled passengers, and higher bus standards.

School Place, Kirkwall, Orkney, KW15 1NY

Telephone: 01856 873535


Orkney Islands Council: BOREAS DOMUS MARE AMICUS