Orkney Islands Council
Working together for a better Orkney

Call for voters in Orkney to register in time for June election

Call for voters in Orkney to register in time for June election
12 May 2017

Poll cards for the Parliamentary General Election will be sent out from Monday (15 May), hot on the heels of last week’s Orkney Islands Council elections.

Ahead of their delivery, the local Electoral Registration Office have simple but important messages for the people of Orkney to make sure that they can be involved on 8 June.

Dennis Stevenson, Electoral Registration Officer for Orkney and Shetland, said: “Everyone who’s currently on the Register of Electors recently received a poll card for the Council elections.

"Poll cards will be sent to all eligible electors for the Parliamentary election from 15 May. Electors should note that the minimum voting age at this election is 18, so 16 and 17 year olds will not be included on this occasion.

"Also citizens of other European Union states are not eligible to vote at Parliamentary elections.”

For those have recently moved address, or are aware that they are not currently registered, it is quick and easy to register online - but after the deadline of 22 May, it will be too late to be involved.

He added: “Usually we encourage electors to wait until they receive their poll cards, which give information on applying for postal and proxy votes, and then act if they are aware that they will not be able to attend their local polling station on the date of the election.

"However, with the very short lead-in to this election we would ask people to get in touch with our office as soon as possible.”

The last date to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on Tuesday 23 May. Proxy vote applications may be made up until 5pm on Wednesday 31 May.

For further local guidance on registering for the election or applying for absent votes please contact the Electoral Registration Office at 8 Broad Street, Kirkwall. You can phone 01856 876222 or send an email.

Information for voters is also available on the Electoral Commission website.