Orkney Islands Council
Working together for a better Orkney

Committee Membership

Committee membership of the newly formed Council following the Local Government Elections on May 3 2012 has now been determined.

Chairs and Vice Chairs of committees are as follows:


Standing Committees:


Development and Infrastructure Committee:

  • Chair: Councillor James Stockan
  • Vice Chair: to be appointed
  • Membership: Maurice Davidson; Andrew Drever; Jim Foubister; Stephen Hagan; Steven Heddle; Leslie Manson; Gwenda Shearer; Graham Sinclair; Bill Stout; David Tullock;


Education, Leisure and Housing Committee:

  • Chair: Councillor Harvey Johnston
  • Vice Chair: to be appointed
  • Membership: Janice Annal; Stephen Clackson; Alan Clouston; Rob Crichton; Jim Foubister; Steven Heddle; Russ Madge; James Moar; John Richards; Gwenda Shearer; Owen Tierney;


Monitoring and Audit Committee:

  • Chair: Councillor David Tullock
  • Vice Chair: to be appointed
  • Membership: Stephen Clackson; Alan Clouston; Maurice Davidson; Stephen Hagan; John Richards; Bill Stout;


Orkney Health and Care:

  • Chair: Gillian Skuse (NHS Orkney)
  • Vice-Chair: Councillor Russ Madge
  • Current membership: Janice Annal; John Richards; Stephen Hagan; Alan Clouston


Policy and Resources Committee:

  • Chair: Convener Steven Heddle
  • Vice Chair: Vice Convener Jim Foubister
  • Membership: All Councillors


Regulatory Committees:


Planning Committee:

  • Chair: Rob Crichton
  • Vice-Chair: to be appointed
  • Membership: Janice Annal; Maurice Davidson; Andrew Drever; Harvey Johnston; Leslie Manson; James Moar; Graham Sinclair; James Stockan; Bill Stout; Owen Tierney; David Tullock


Licensing Sub-committee:

  • Chair: John Richards
  • Vice Chair: Owen Tierney
  • Membership: Gwenda Shearer; David Tullock; Jimmy Moar; Russ Madge; Stephen Clackson; Graham Sinclair


Details of each of the Standing Committees of Orkney Islands Council are outlined in the Committee Membership document, and can be downloaded from the Related Downloads section on this page. 

Elected Members of Orkney Islands Council also serve on a number of joint committees, working groups and other bodies. Details of appointments are also outlined in the Committee Membership document.

Related Links

Related Downloads

You may need an Acrobat reader to read some of the PDF files above, click here to download the reader from Adobe