Orkney Islands Council
Working together for a better Orkney

Tough Times Meetings

Image of the Tough Times-Tough Choices logo

OIC ran public meetings in each of the areas covered by Orkney’s 20 community councils between October 2010 and January 2011, giving the public the chance to have their say on the Tough Times-Tough Choices facing Orkney Islands Council and discuss their ideas, face to face, with the Council Convener Stephen Hagan and Chief Executive Albert Tait.

Full List of Meetings

Note that feedback was gathered from each meeting and is available where indicated in the 'Related Downloads' section on this page.

  • Thursday October 28 2010- Stronsay Community Centre (47 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Monday November 1 2010- St Andrews Community Centre (15 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Wednesday November 3 2010- Dounby Centre (36 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Thursday November 4 2010- North Ronaldsay Community Centre - POSTPONED to December 2
  • Monday November 8 2010 - Rousay Community School - POSTONED to Jan 6 at 7.30pm
  • Tuesday November 9 2010 - Stromness Academy (51 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Wednesday November 10 2010 - Shapinsay Community School (32 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Thursday November 11 2010 - Flotta Community School (18 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Monday November 15 2010 - Sanday Community School (58 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Tuesday November 16 2010 - Kirkwall Town Hall (60 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Monday November 22 2010 - St Margaret’s Hope Community School (45 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Tuesday November 23 2010 - Orphir Community Hall (46 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Monday November 29 2010 - Westray Community School - POSTPONED to Dec 13
  • Tuesday November 30 2010 - Community Room, Eday School - POSTPONED to Dec 21
  • Thursday December 2 2010 - North Ronaldsay Community Centre (17 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Monday December 6 2010 - Hoy – North Walls Centre - POSTPONED to January 5 2011
  • Monday December 13 2010 - Westray Parish Kirk (63 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Tuesday December 14 2010 - Papa Westray – St Ann’s Centre (24 attendees). Feedback available. 
  • Wednesday December 15 2010 - Firth/Stenness - Firth School Hall (34 attendees). Feedback available. 
  • Tuesday December 21 2010 - Community Room, Eday School (POSTPONED to January 12)
  • Wednesday January 5 2011 - Hoy – North Walls Centre (32 attendees). Feedback available. 
  • Thursday January 6 2011 - Rousay, Eglisay and Wyre (24 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Monday January 10 2011 - Holm Community Centre (23 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Tuesday January 11 2011 - Evie/Rendall – Evie Community School (18 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Wednesday January 12 2011 -  Community Room, Eday School (18 attendees). Feedback available.
  • Thursday January 13 2011 - Birsay Hall (17 attendees). Feedback available.

In addition, meetings were held with minority groups across Orkney. Feedback from a meeting with the Blide Trust on 15 December 2010 (15 attendees) is available in the 'Related Downloads' section on this page.