Orkney Islands Council
Working together for a better Orkney

College Management Council

The College Management Council was established as a Sub-committee of the Education Committee in March 2009. Its remit includes responsibility for the governance of Orkney College, the quality of education provided by the College, the estates strategy and its annual budget.

  • Chair: Councillor Robin W Crichton.
  • Vice Chair: John A R Scott.


  • Councillor Stephen G Clackson.
  • Councillor Alexander G Cowie.
  • Councillor J Harvey Johnston (Convenor).

Business Community Representatives (4)

  • Euan Smith.
  • Karen Crichton.
  • Two vacancies.

Community Representatives / Voluntary Agencies (4)

  • Ian Carse.
  • Dr. Marian Chesters.
  • Dr Malcolm Graves.
  • One vacancy.

Vacancies will be advertised shortly.

The role, remit and constitution of the College Management Council is currently being updated and will be available from the 'Related Downloads' section of this page in due course.

Details of the College Management council meetings can be accessed by year through the links on the left of this page.